The Edition


Maamigili, Maavah results unchanged after recount

Mariyam Malsa
11 April 2019, MVT 10:17
Qasim Ibrahim (L) and Mohamed Saeed (R). PHOTO: NISHAN ALI/MIHAARU
Mariyam Malsa
11 April 2019, MVT 10:17

Elections Commission (EC), on Wednesday, announced that the final electoral results for the constituencies of Maamigili and Maavah remain unaltered after recounting of ballots.

However, the winning margin of both elected candidates, Jumhooree Party (JP) leader Qasim Ibrahim and former Minister of Economic Development Mohamed Saeed for Maamigili and Maavah respectively, increased by varying amounts.

Parliament Speaker Qasim gained an additional 18 votes, strengthening his lead over Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP)'s candidate Ali Ameez, who also received an additional 11 votes. As per the most recently announced tentative results, Qasim won by a 110-vote difference.

The Jumhooree Party leader's total vote count is now at 1,163, while Ameez has 1,053 votes in his favour.

Former minister Saeed's narrow win against MDP's Ibrahim Falah was also strengthened by an additional vote. Previously, the margin between the two candidates stood at 5 votes.

The electoral watchdog commenced recounting votes from 69 ballot boxes in Maavah constituency at 1700 hrs on Wednesday and wrapped up at 0330 hrs on Thursday. Saeed's total count is currently at 853 compared to Falah's 848 votes.

This is the second time EC has recounted ballots for Maamigili and Maavah.

The previous recount of ballot boxes in Hithadhoo, Kunahandhoo and Maavah in Laamu Atoll, the islands which constitute Maavah constituency, resulted in MDP candidate Falah gaining an additional vote.

Whereas, Qasim gained 64 votes when EC recounted spoilt ballot papers from three boxes in his home constituency, which is comprised of Maamigili and Fenfushi in Alif Dhaalu Atoll.

EC has announced that it would investigate and take measures against polling officials who had nullified valid votes cast in Maamigili constituency.