The Edition


EC to again recount votes of Maamigili, Maavah and Maduvvari

Nafaahath Ibrahim
10 April 2019, MVT 15:35
Former Defence Minister Adam Shareef (L), JP leader, Parliament speaker Qasim Ibrahim (M), former Economic Minister Mohamed Saeed (R). PHOTO: MIHAARU
Nafaahath Ibrahim
10 April 2019, MVT 15:35

Elections Commission on Wednesday announced vote recounts for the constituencies of Maamigili, Maavah and Maduvvari.

As per the current tentative results, the seats were won by Parliament Speaker Qasim Ibrahim for Maamigili, former Minister of Economic Developmed Mohamed Saeed for Maavah, and former Minister of Defence Adam Shareef for Maduvvari.

The electoral watchdog revealed that ballots for the three constituencies will be recounted Wednesday evening at the EC main centre.

EC announced the recount of one ballot box in Maamigili as per the request of an agent representing Jumhooree Party leader Qasim Ibrahim.

Maamigili constituency votes were recounted previously as well. After the recount, Qasim received 64 additional votes while close second Ali Ameez of Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) attained 45 extra votes. Qasim’s total vote tally amounted to 1,145, whereas Ameez received a total of 1,046, thereby resulting in the JP leader leading with a difference of 99 votes.

President of EC Ahmed Shareef stated that 143 votes were designated as invalid in counting the three ballot boxes in Maamigili. He revealed that with the recount, only 36 was found to be illegitimate.

The former Economic Minister's constituency was previously recounted as well. From the first count, Saeed gained lead over MDPcandidate Ibrahim Falah by six votes.

The recount showed that Falah received one extra vote, making it a total of 848 votes in his favour. Saeed, a native of Thuraakunu, Haa Alif Atoll, received 853 votes from the 2,789 eligible voters. Current Maavah MP Azhan Fahmy also had one additional vote, receiving a final count of 651 votes.

Falah had claimed that Saeed won due to false votes counted in his favour, prompting EC to recount 69 out of the 96 ballots yet again.

EC will recount three ballot boxes placed in Maduvvari constituency as well.. According to the initial results, former Defence Minister Adam Shareef is leading with 868 votes, while closest competitor from MDP, Adam Shiham, got 851 votes.