The Edition


President Solih appoints members to ACC

Ahmed Aiham
09 September 2019, MVT 22:14
The newly appointed members at the Anti Corruption Commission (ACC). PHOTO: PRESIDENT'S OFFICE
Ahmed Aiham
09 September 2019, MVT 22:14

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih, on Monday, appointed four members to the Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC).

The President presented letters of appointment during a ceremony held at the President's Office. The four appointees took their oath administered by Supreme Court Judge Adam Mohamed Abdulla

The former Executive Director of Transparency Maldives Mariyam Shiuna was appointed President of the commission, while Fathimath Anoola was appointed Vice President. Additionally, Aishath Abdulla and Ali Ashraf were appointed members at ACC.

Anoola previously served on the Presidential Commission on Corruption and Asset Recovery. Ashraf has worked in various managerial positions at Villa College. Aishath was a former Audit Executive at the Ministry of Finance.

Prior to the appointments, Ibrahim Shakeel was appointed as a member following the resignation of former ACC president Hassan Luthfee.

Maldives Police Service have commenced an investigation into a money laundering case in which he was involved.

The case was reported to the police by Maldives Monetary Authority (MMA)’s independent agency, Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU).

The ACC-led investigation on the graft scandal of Maldives Marketing and Public Relations Corporation (MMPRC) claimed that Luthfee acted unlawfully to defend former President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom against accusations of corrupt practices.