The Edition
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon linkedin icon


Outstanding Swimmers Crowned at National Swimming Championship

15 November 2023, MVT 14:00
Swimming Champions: Rihan (Left), Sausan (Centre Left), Shaim (Centre Right) and Thazkiya (Right).-- Photo: Swimming Association
15 November 2023, MVT 14:00

Aishath Sausan and Mohamed Rihan Shiham claimed the titles of the best senior swimmers, while Shaim Hussain Ibrahim and Amna Tazkiya Mirshad earned the accolade in the junior section during the BML 47th National Swimming Championship hosted by the Maldives Swimming Association this month.

With 181 participants, the competition unfolded at the Hulhumalé swimming pool from November 2-8, featuring a comprehensive program of 151 events, including categories for juniors, seniors, and masters.

In the senior male category, Rihan was crowned the Best Swimmer, securing the top position, followed by Ali Im’aan in second place and Mohamed Aan Hussain in third. A parallel ranking in the senior female category saw Sausan claiming the Best Swimmer title, with Fathimath Anjal Fayaz securing the second spot and Aishath Aini Abdul Hameed taking third.

Shaim excelled as the Best Male Swimmer in the junior section, accompanied by Luth Mohamed Hussain in second place and Yaseen Mohamed Yusuf in third. Tazkia received the title of Best Female Junior Swimmer, with Ayana Areef securing second place and Laiba Hasan Manik coming in third.

The Masters section, exclusively featuring male swimmers, witnessed Hussain Mubah securing the top position, followed by Hasan Ashraf in second and Minwal Ibrahim in third.

The tournament showcased ten men's and seven women's teams, with the Maldives Lifeguard Association (MLA) receiving the men's title, and New Lagoons Swimming Club winning in the women's category.

New Lagoons Swimming Club secured the second position in the men's division, with Fina Swimming Academy claiming third. In the women's category, the Youth Challenge Swimming Club secured the second spot, while the MLA was named the third runner-up.

Unlike previous years, this edition allowed swimmers to qualify based on timings from various events, both within the association and internationally. The competition implemented a new automated timing system and pushpad for accurate timing of swimmers, marking a significant advancement in the championship's technical aspects.

Share this story