The Edition
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon linkedin icon


R. Rasmaadhoo take home 'Maruhaba Cup' champion title

Mohamed Rehan
21 November 2022, MVT 10:10
Mohamed Rehan
21 November 2022, MVT 10:10

Raa Atoll Rasmaadhoo takes the winner's title of 'Maruhaba Cup'; the new event which debuted under the 'Rannamaari Challenge 2022'.

The island's surfing team grabbed the championship title in 'Maruhaba Cup' following the conclusion of the event's final heat on November 18, Friday. The team secured 21.17 points beating competitor Gahdhoo's team, which in turn managed to secure 17.23 points.

Hussain Areef secured most number of points for the champion team. He scored 8.17 points in the first wave, which is also the highest score any surfer secured in an individual wave.

The team's Abdulla Areef secured 7.83 points during the heat, while Ibrahim Areef scored 3.30 points while Mohamed Arif managed 1.87 points.

From the opposing Gahdhoo's team, Hoodh Ahmed scored the highest from the group, managing 4.93 points. Ismail Rasheed, the team's second highest scorer grabbed 4.17 points, while Najah Mohamed secured 4.00 points. The team's last surfer, Jailam Nizar was able to grab 4.13 points despite strong efforts to secure lead for the team.

Gahdhoo secured its spot in the finals after defeating previous year's champion team Male'. Despite not advancing to the finals, Male' team beat Kaafu Atoll Thulusdhoo to secure third place in the cup.

The Male' team managed to land third spot with a 0.11 score difference, with a final score of 17.07 points while Thulusdhoo secured 16.96 points.

A total of six teams took part in the event that debuted under this year's challenge. The teams included Rasmaadhoo, Gahdhoo, Male', Thulusdhoo, Muli and Vaadhoo.