The Edition


Only 4 female MPs in new parliament

Fathmath Shaahunaz
07 April 2019, MVT 14:59
The newly elected female MPs (L-R): Jeehaan Mahmood, Eva Abdulla, Hisaan Hussain and Rozaina Adam. IMAGE/MIHAARU
Fathmath Shaahunaz
07 April 2019, MVT 14:59

The number of female lawmakers will drop from five to four, as per the tentative results of the Parliamentary Election held April 6.

The women who won the election out of 37 candidates are

- Hisaan Hussain for Thulhaadhoo constituency

- Jeehaan Mahmood for Hinnavaru constituency

- Eva Abdulla for Galolhu North

- Rozaina Adam for Addu Meedhoo.

The quartet make up only 4.5 percent of the 87-seat parliament.

Five female MPs were elected to the current parliament, including Eva and Rozaina. Of the others, Makunudhoo MP Anara Naeem and Maafannu Central MP Asma Rasheed failed to secure their seats again, while Machangolhi North MP Mariya Ahmed Didi had resigned from the parliament prior to her current appointment as Minister of Defence.

Female lawmakers were first elected to the Maldivian parliament during the First Republic, under the administration of former President Mohamed Amin Didi.