The Edition


EU, Commonwealth to observe parliamentary elections

Mariyam Malsa
27 March 2019, MVT 19:41
A voter casts his ballot during the 2018 presidential election. PHOTO: NISHAN ALI/ MIHAARU
Mariyam Malsa
27 March 2019, MVT 19:41

The Elections Commission (EC), on Wednesday, declared that there would be a total of 36 observers for the parliamentary election slated for April 6, including the European Union (EU) and the Commonwealth of Nations.

According to EC member Ahmed Akram, four nations and nine organizations would participate in the observation efforts. The observer states are Jordan, Japan, Philippines and Georgia.

Akram asserted that Philipinnes possessed the strongest electoral system from among the countries that had volunteered to observe the polling in April.

Maldives left the Commonwealth on October 13, 2016, during the tenure of former President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom, after 34 years as a member of the intergovernmental organization.

In accordance with his electoral pledges, President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih officially requested to rejoin the Commonwealth in December 2018.

Despite the fact that the Commonwealth did not participate as an observer in the presidential election of 2018, several EU parliamentarians and council members took part in the efforts.

The presidential election of 2018 had a total of 51 observers.