The Edition


Maldives protects three eco-rich islands

27 December 2018, MVT 11:40
Keylakunu island in Haa Dhaalu atoll. PHOTO: MIHAARU
27 December 2018, MVT 11:40

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih declared Keylakunu and Neykurendhoo of Haa Dhaalu Atoll, and Baarah of Haa Alif Atoll, as conservation areas, on December 25.

The President’s Office revealed that the sites were protected under the Environment Protection and Preservation Act based on papers submitted by Minister of Environment, Dr. Hussain Rasheed.

Neykurendhoo and Baarah were conserved along with the wetlands and mangroves of both islands, while Keylakunu was conserved along with its house reef and lagoon.

Protecting at least one island, reef and wetland from each atoll is part of the pre-electoral pledges of President Solih. The president declared that the conserved sites would follow international conservation guidelines.