The Edition


Abdullah Sadiq 'Soadhube' wins journalism's Lifetime Achievement Award

Lujine Rasheed
12 December 2018, MVT 19:51
Abdullah Sadiq accepts the Lifetime Achievement Award from former president Maumoon Abdul Gayyoom at Maldives Journalism Awards 2018 / PHOTO: MIHAARU
Lujine Rasheed
12 December 2018, MVT 19:51

Accomplished linguist and well-known Dhivehi teacher Abdullah Sadiq (Soadhube), on Tuesday, won the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Maldivian Journalism Awards 2018.

Journalism Awards 2018

In the ceremony organized by Maldives Media Council and Ministry of Home Affairs, to celebrate the Diamond Jubilee of Maldivian Journalism, as well as to carry out the awarding of this year's 'journalism awards', the Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Sadiq in recognition of over 50 years of his services to Maldivian journalism.

Sadiq's decorated resumé include, being the first ever editor of 'Haveeru' news, outstanding contributions to the newsrooms of Television Maldives and Voice of Maldives, and contributions to 'Viyafaari Miadhu' and 'Moonlight' news.

Winners of other awards:

Winners of Journalism Awards pose for photo at Maldives Journalism Awards 2018 / PHOTO: MIHAARU

Writing Awards:

Feature Category - Aminath Shifleen (Mihaaru).

Aminath Shifleen (Mihaaru) wins Journalism Award for Feature Category, beating out Aasima Nizar (Mihaaru) and Asiyath Mohamed Saeed (Mihaaru)/ PHOTO: MIHAARU

Political Category - Moosaa Rasheed (Avas).

Moosaa Rasheed (Avas) wins Journalism Award for Political Category, beating out Fazeena Ahmed (Mihaaru) and Nazim Hassan (Avas) / PHOTO: MIHAARU

Sports Category - Azzam AliFulhu (Mihaaru) and Hussain Habeeb (Avas).

Azzam AliFulhu (Mihaaru) wins Journalism Award for Sports Category / PHOTO: MIHAARU
Hussain Habeeb (Avas) wins Journalism Award for Sports Category / PHOTO: MIHAARU

Business and Economy Category - Abdullah Jameel (Mihaaru).

Abdullah Jameel (Mihaaru) wins Journalism Award for Business and Economy Category, beating out Fathmath Shanaa Mohamed (RaajjeMV) and Mohamed Afrah (Avas) / PHOTO: MIHAARU

Legal Category - Muizzu Ibrahim (Mihaaru).

Muizzu Ibrahim (Mihaaru) wins Journalism Award for Legal Category, beating out Nazim Hassan (Avas) / PHOTO: MIHAARU

Social Category - Ahmed Saail Ali (Mihaaru).

Ahmed Saail Ali (Mihaaru) with the Journalism Award for Social Category. He beat out Aminath Shifleen (Mihaaru) and Moosaa Rasheed (Avas) / PHOTO: MIHAARU

Other Awards:

Video Journalism Award - Aminath Layaal Manik (Channel 13).

Aminath Layaal Manik (Channel 13) wins Video Journalism Award / PHOTO: MIHAARU

Photo Journalism Award - Mohamed Sharuhaan Waheed (RaajjeMV).

Mohamed Sharuhaan Waheed (RaajjeMV) wins Photo Journalism Award, beating out Hussain Waheed (Mihaaru) and Nishan Ali (Mihaaru) / PHOTO: MIHAARU

Most Promising Journalist - Nazim Hassan (Avas Online)

Nazim Hassan wins Most Promising Journalist Award / PHOTO: MIHAARU