The Edition


National Security Committee approves Commonwealth reintegration

05 December 2018, MVT 14:19
President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih with United Kingdom's Minister of State for the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, Mark Field (M) and UK Ambassador to Maldives Mark Dauris. PHOTO: MDP
05 December 2018, MVT 14:19

The parliamentary Committee on National Security approved the reintegration of Maldives into The Commonwealth of Nations.

While members of the Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP), the Jumhooree Party (JP), the Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) and Maldives Democratic Alliance (MDA) are on the National Security Committee, the decision was unanimously approved.

PPM parliamentarians who voted in favour of Maldives leaving the Commonwealth in 2016 also voted in favour of Maldives rejoining the commonwealth. This includes Mahibadhoo MP Ahmed Thoriq, Gemanafushi MP Jameel Usman and Feydhoo MP Ibrahim Didi.

Although the cabinet decided to re-join the Commonwealth on November 19, the move must also be approved by the parliament before it can be implemented. The issue is on the agenda for Thursday’s parliamentary sitting.

Rejoining the Commonwealth is part of President Solih's goals for the first 100 days of his administration. He pledged to reconnect with the association of sovereign states within the first week of his inauguration.

Maldives left the Commonwealth in 2016 during the tenure of former President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom.

Yameen claimed that the organization was meddling with the domestic affairs of the country and differentiating between other member states.

Maldives joined the Commonwealth on July 9, 1982, and left on October 13, 2016, after spending 34 years as a member of the intergovernmental organization.

Upon the Maldives' departure from the Commonwealth, the organization stated that the bloc only worked to strengthen democracy in the country and that they hoped Maldives would join the organization again in the future.