The Edition


Opposition MPs to file 3rd motion of no-confidence against parliament speaker

Rae Munavvar
23 October 2018, MVT 22:33
Majilis Speaker Abdulla Maseeh Mohamed
Rae Munavvar
23 October 2018, MVT 22:33

Opposition coalition lawmakers confirmed that  a motion of no confidence against Parliament Speaker Abdulla Maseeh will be filed on Wednesday, backed by 45 signatories.

Local news Mihaaru reports that, according to credible sources, the motion was signed by parliament members hailing from the opposition coalition, along with a number of lawmakers from the out-going Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM). Further details on the signatories were not provided.

The move will be the third attempt made to impeach the parliament speaker within the last 18 months. An initial roll call vote deemed MP Maseeh fit to serve in his position whereas in the second attempt 45 signatories voted against him. However, 12 of the 45 lawmakers backing the motion were ousted by the Elections Commission, thereby nullifying the vote.

Opposition members have continually called for MP Maseeh to be sacked, declaring that parliament sittings would resume following his impeachment.

Although the parliament is currently in session, plans for future sittings are on hold following declarations that there were "no pressing matters on the agenda".

Following amendments to the parliamentary regulations last year, 42 signatures are needed to file the motion against the speaker, whereas previously only 15 were required.