The Edition


EC reveals international voting times

Nafaahath Ibrahim
10 September 2018, MVT 08:14
Local Council Election 2017. PHOTO: MIHAARU
Nafaahath Ibrahim
10 September 2018, MVT 08:14

The Elections Commission (EC) has officially announced the voting times for the ballot boxes that will be set abroad.

The announcement by the commission, on Sunday, stated that voting will take place during the specified local time in the allocated countries.

The commission had previously announced that ballot boxes set outside of Maldives will be placed at Trivandrum in India, Colombo in Sri Lanka, Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia, and London in the United Kingdom. Out of these, two boxes are to be placed in Colombo.

Voting time for the countries are as follows:

India, Trivandrum - 08:30 to 16:30

Sri Lanka, Columbo - 08:30 to 16:30

Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur - 11:00 to 19:00

London, United Kingdom - 09:30 to 17:30

A total of 10,506 monitors and 1,895 officials will observe the upcoming presidential election. EC further revealed that 34 international monitors and 25 international observer invitees will also partake in the monitoring of the election.