The Edition


Opposition seeks third motion of no confidence against parliament speaker

Aishath Mihna Nasih
09 April 2017, MVT 17:10
Parliament Speaker Abdulla Maseeh : This is third motion of no confidence against him. PHOTO:Parliament
Aishath Mihna Nasih
09 April 2017, MVT 17:10

Another motion of no confidence against parliamentary speaker Abdulla Maseeh was submitted on Sunday with signatures of 31 lawmakers.

According to sources, this motion was led by main opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) together with Jumhoory Party (JP), religiously conservative Adhaalath Party, and ruling Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM)'s members who support the faction of its ousted leader, Former President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom.

The previous no confidence motion was presented to the parliament with signatures of 26 members. During the vote, 48 members voted against the motion while 13 opposition members were removed from the chamber over obstructing the sitting. The other 21 opposition members boycotted the vote afterwards.

Tensions peaked between government and opposition lawmakers during the debate over alleged defects in the parliament’s electronic voting systems with both sides accusing the other of tampering with the voting portals prior to the session.

The no confidence motion against the parliament speaker will be passed only should the majority of lawmakers present at that day's sitting vote in favour of the motion.

This is the third time that a no-confidence motion has been submitted against Speaker Maseeh. The first motion was submitted in March 2016. However, it was taken back before the debating process.

According to parliament regulations, a motion of no confidence against the speaker can be sought only with the signatures of minimum 15 members reasoning their views. A notice shall then be given to the lawmakers within three days.

The speaker is given the right to defend himself at the debate but not be allowed to vote.

Meanwhile, the motion of no confidence sought against Deputy Speaker Moosa Manik is scheduled to be held this Tuesday.