The Edition
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon linkedin icon


Shaaz secures MDP's ticket for Guraidhoo by-election

12 March 2023, MVT 13:03
President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih (L) with Ibrahim Shaaz (R) after a meeting in Muliaage --
12 March 2023, MVT 13:03

Ibrahim Shaaz has won the Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP)'s primary held ahead of the by-election for the vacant Kaafu atoll Guraidhoo constituency.

Four MDP members contested for the vacant seat from MDP. They include the former president of Kaafu atoll Maafushi Council Mohamed Musthafa; Salman Rasheed, also from Maafushi; Ibrahim Shaaz from Kaafu atoll Guraidhoo; and Abdullah Saeed, also from Guraidhoo.

According to MDP, 844 people were registered to vote in this primary. Shaaz secured the party's ticket with 311 votes. Salman came in second with 190 votes.

The by-election is being held following the death of Ibrahim Riza, who has been the Member of Parliament for Guraidhoo for the past 14 years. MP Riza passed away in Malaysia on February 22 at the age of 55 after a long battle with cancer.

The main opposition party, the Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM), said last week that the party's candidate for the by-election will be his younger brother Hussain Riza. The late MP was also a member of PPM.

The Election Commission has said that the by-election for the constituency will be held on April 15.

Share this story

Related Stories