The Edition


Incumbent mayors in major cities lose MDP primary

Ahmed Aiham
01 February 2020, MVT 11:11
Maldives Democratic Party hosted its local council primary elections on Friday. PHOTO: HUSSAIN WAHEED / MIHAARU
Ahmed Aiham
01 February 2020, MVT 11:11

Members of the Maldives Democratic Party (MDP) on Friday, voted out incumbent Mayors of capital Male' City, Fuvahmulah City and Addu City, during the party's local council election primaries.

Addu City Mayor Abdulla Sodiq and Fuvahmulah City Mayor Abdulla Falah, conceded against former MP Ali Nizar and Ismail Rafeeq, respectively.

Contesting against Male' City Mayor Shifa Mohamed, MDP's Secretary General Anas Abdulla was awarded the party ticket. Anas secured the win by a margin of 200 votes. He acquired 1,025 votes.

While outgoing Mayor Shifa managed 835 votes in favour, the first Male' City Mayor Adam Manik (Sarangu) achieved 780 votes.

Finalized results of the vote have yet to be announced.

Although local council elections include 179 island councils, 18 atoll councils and 4 city councils, MDP is only hosting primaries in 93 islands. Roughly 400 canditates were endorsed by the party without a primary.