The Edition
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon linkedin icon


Parliament approves three new members for Broadcom

Shahudha Mohamed
03 December 2019, MVT 17:01
Former journalist Ali Yoosuf (L), TV presenter Mariyam Waheeda, and Ahmed Gais. The Parliament approved the three candidates for Maldives Broadcasting Commission (Broadcom) on December 3. PHOTO: MIHAARU
Shahudha Mohamed
03 December 2019, MVT 17:01

The Parliament on Tuesday approved the names of TV presenter Mariyam Waheeda, former journalist Ali Yoosuf, and Ahmed Gais for Maldives Broadcasting Commission (Broadcom).

During Tuesday's session, Mariyam Waheeda was approved for the position of Broadcom's President with a total of 66 votes.

Mariyam Waheed served in the media sector for over 20 years and is currently the Honourary Consul from Maldives to Sweden. She is also a board member of Public Service Media (PSM) and worked in Television Maldives (TVM) for a considerable number of years.

A total of 64 members voted in favour of Ali Yoosuf, while two MPs voted against the former journalist. Ali Yoosuf has 18 years of experience working in Raajje TV and Haveeru News, where he went on to fill the post of assistant editor. Most recently, he was the news director of Raajje TV.

Moreover, Ali Yoosuf was formerly a member of Maldives Media Council and sat on the Maldives Journalist Association's board.

Mohamed Gais was voted into Broadcom by 66 MPs. Gais leads the activities of Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) in Thinadhoo, Gaafu Dhaalu Atoll, and was elected for atoll's council as well. However, there is no record of him ever having worked in the media field.

The parliament approved the three names to fill the vacancies left in the commission after recent activities led to the resignation of Broadcom's former President Mohamed Shaheeb.

Broadcom members Ismail Sofwan and Hassan Nabaah also resigned when the Parliament's Committee on Independent Institutions moved to dismiss them, following a probe into questionable activities by the commission.

The Parliament voted to sack the commission's Vice President Fathimath Zaina, reducing the number of Broadcom's members to three. They are Zeena Zahir, Aminath Saraahath Izzath and Amjad Waheed.

The commission received a total of 36 applications for the two vacant member posts, while three candidates applied for the position of Vice President.

The initial list presented to President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih contained the names of Sangu TV's presenter Shifla Ibrahim, Mohamed Hilmy, Gais and Ali Yoosuf, in that order.

After vetting the suggested candidates, the Committee on Independent Institutions forwarded a total of 12 names to the Parliament floor including Ali Yoosuf, Shifla and Gais.

The committee did not forward the names of any applicants for the Vice President's position to the parliament floor. Instead, the committee decided to reopen applications for the post, a decision which was approved by the Parliament.

With the new appointments made on Tuesday, the only vacant seat in Broadcom is now the Vice President's seat.