The Edition


President Solih submits two SC nominations to parliament

Fathmath Shaahunaz
02 December 2019, MVT 10:12
Husnu suood/ Muhthasim
Fathmath Shaahunaz
02 December 2019, MVT 10:12

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih submitted the names of former top court judge, Ahmed Muthasim Adnan, and former Attorney General, Husnu al-Suood, to the parliament for the vacancies on the Supreme Court bench.

The president made the submission after he sought the counsel of Judicial Service Commission (JSC) on nominating Muthasim, Suood and High Court Judge Abdul Rauf Ibrahim, to the apex court.

While JSC advised the president to submit two names to the parliament, the commission did not offer advice regarding Rauf. The judge, who was the High Court's representative on the commission, resigned from JSC this Sunday.

There are three vacancies on the top court bench. The parliament passed the motion to dismiss Chief Justice Dr Ahmed Abdulla Didi and Judge Adam Mohamed Abdulla on November 18, while Judge Abdulla Areef retired on November 20.

As per the Constitution, justices are appointed to the Supreme Court through a parliament vote on nominations made by the president, based on JSC's advice.

The justices currently on the apex court bench are Dr Azmiralda Zahir, Aisha Shujoon Mohamed, Mahaaz Zahir, and Abdul Ghani Mohamed. A motion to dismiss Judge Ghani has also been submitted to the parliament.