The Edition


JSC appoints MP Hisaan as new president

13 November 2019, MVT 16:25
Thulhaadhoo MP Hisaan Hussain, the new president of the Judicial Service Commission. PHOTO: HUSSAIN WAHEED / MIHAARU
13 November 2019, MVT 16:25

Thulhaadhoo MP and the parliamentary representative to the Judicial Service Commission (JSC), Hisaan Hussain was appointed as the president of the commission on Wednesday.

JSC appointed Hisaan at a meeting of the commission, which was held after its former president, Justice Abdulla Areef of the Supreme Court, resigned from the post earlier the same day.

This marks the first time that the post of JSC president is being filled by a woman, and a commission member who is not a top court judge.

The previous president, Judge Areef, did not disclose his reasons for stepping down. His resignation came amidst an ongoing JSC investigation into him, in addition to three other justices of the apex court.

JSC is comprised of the Speaker of Parliament, a parliamentary representative, a presidential representative, a representative from the public, a lawyer, the head of the Civil Service Commission, the Attorney General, and a judge from a lower court, High Court, and Supreme Court.