The Edition


MDP to chair 16 parliamentary committees

Mariyam Malsa
12 June 2019, MVT 16:42
A parliamentary committee meeting. PHOTO: HUSSEIN WAHEED/ MIHAARU
Mariyam Malsa
12 June 2019, MVT 16:42

Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP), on Tuesday, was given leadership of 16 of the 17 parliamentary committees.

The main coalition party holds a majority in all parliamentary committees including the General Purpose Committee. This is the only committee not chaired by an MP from MDP.

MDP maintains 132 out of the total 176 slots in the parliamentary committees.

Chairs of the parliamentary committees

1- Committee on National Security

Chair: Hithadhoo North MP Mohamed Aslam

Vice Chair: Independent member and Faresmaathodaa MP Hussain Mohamed Latheef.

2- National Accountability Committee

Chair: Maafannu west MP Ibrahim Falaah

Vice Chair: independent member and Kaashidhoo MP Abdulla Jabir

3- National Security and Diplomatic Relations

Chair: Maradhoo MP Ibrahim Shareef

Vice Chair: Kendikulhudhoo MP Ahmed Easa

4- State-owned enterprises committee

Chair: Hulhudhoo MP Ilyas Labeeb

Vice Chair: Fuvahmulah Central MP Hussain Mohamed Didi

5- Judiciary Committee

Chair: Maafannu North MP Imthiyaz Fahmy

Vice Chair: Fonadhoo MP Moosa Siraj.

6- Human rights and gender committee

Chair: Hinnavaru MP Jeehan Mahmood

Vice Chair: Vaikaradhoo MP Hussain Ziyadh

7- Committee on Secondary Legislation.

Chair: Kudahuvadhoo MP and MDA representative Ahmed Ameer

Vice Chair: Mulaku MP Ibrahim Naseer

8- General Purpose Committee.

Chair: Henveiru West MP Hassan Latheef

Vice Chair: Thodhoo MP Hussain Shiyan

9- Economic Affairs Committee

Chair: Kendhikulhudhoo MP Ahmed Easa

Vice Chair: Maddaveli MP Hussain Firushan

10- National development and heritage committee

Chair: Baarah MP Ahmed Abdulla

Vice Chair: Kelaa MP Ibrahim Shareef

11- Decentralization committee

Chair: Hulhumale MP Ali Niyaz

Vice Chair: Ungoofaaru MP Mohamed Waheed

12- Ethics Committee

Chair: Kulhudhuffushi North MP Yasir Abdul Latheef

Vice Chair: Gan MP Mohamed Visam

13- Petition Committee

Chair: Mulah MP Ibrahim Nasir

Vice Chair: Thinadhoo North MP Abdulla Mugny

14- Environment and climate change committee

Chair: Hoarafushi MP Ahmed Saleem

Vice Chair: Machangolhi South MP Ahmed Haitham

15- Economic Affairs Committee

Chair: Alifushi MP Mohamed Rasheed

Vice Chair: Maafannu Central MP Ibrahim Rasheed

16- Committee on Independent Institutions

Chair: Addu Meedhoo MP Rozaina MP

Vice Chair: Galolhu South MP Meekail Ahmed