The Edition


News / PPM

PPM appoints Saleem as PG group leader

Mariyam Malsa
12 June 2019, MVT 10:54
Newly appointed leader of the PPM (Progressive Party of Maldives) parliamentary group Eydhafushi MP Ahmed Saleem
Mariyam Malsa
12 June 2019, MVT 10:54

Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM), on Tuesday, appointed Eydhafushi MP Ahmed Saleem as the leader of its parliamentary group.

PPM Vice President and Naifaru MP Ahmed Shiyam tweeted that Saleem was appointed to the position through a unanimous decision by parliamentarians of the opposition party.

Saleem has represented the constituency of Eydhafushi since 2009 and is one of the four PPM parliamentarians re-elected for a second term in the 2019 parliamentary elections. PPM has a total of five representatives in the 19th parliament.

In addition to Saleem and Shiyam, the remaining PPM parliamentarians are Mahibadhoo MP Ahmed Thoriq, Guraidhoo (Thaa Atoll) MP Mohamed Ghassan Maumoon and Guraidhoo (Kaafu Atoll) MP Ibrahim Riza.

PPM parliamentarians collaborate with the three MPs of its coalition partner, People's National Congress (PNC). Collectively, the Progressive Coalition holds seven seats in parliament.