The Edition


EC to take measures against 39 parliamentary candidates for failure to declare assets

Raif Amyl Jalyl
28 April 2019, MVT 16:00
Elections Commission/ Parliamentary Elections 2019 / Vote Counting. PHOTO: HUSSAIN WAHEED
Raif Amyl Jalyl
28 April 2019, MVT 16:00

The Elections Commission (EC) on Sunday announced that it would finalise measures against 39 parliamentary candidates who failed to reveal their financial statements before the expiration of the deadline set for 0000 hours on April 28.

According to local media Mihaaru, EC Vice President Amjad Musthafa stated that 347 independent and party-affiliated candidates publicised their financial statements before the deadline. A total of 386 candidates contested in the parliamentary elections held on April 6.

"No candidates elected to the parliament are included amongst those who did not disclose their financial statements", revealed Amjad.

Noting that the penalty for non-compliance was specified in the amendments made to the 2018 Elections General Act, he stated that decisions would be made in the electoral watchdogs' next meeting.

Details of the 39 candidates that did not declare assets:

- 31 Independent candidates

- Two from the Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM)

- One from the People's National Congress (PNC)

- One from Adhaalath Party

- Two from Maldives Third-Way Democrats (MTD)

- Two from Maldives Labour And Social Democratic Party (MLSD)

The 2018 Elections General Act states that failure to comply with the guidelines constitutes an election offence and carries a penalty of MVR 6,000 - 24,000, or a prison sentence ranging between six months to two years.

As per the law, the financial statements must be written by an auditor registered at a relevant state authority.