The Edition


Fisheries minister slates ex-VP, ex-top diplomat over Maldives 'anti-campaign'

Shaina Abdulla
24 May 2018, MVT 14:21
Right to Left: Former Foreign Minister Ahmed 'Kerafa' Naseem, Fisheries Minister Dr Mohamed Shainee and Former Vice President Dr Mohamed Jameel
Shaina Abdulla
24 May 2018, MVT 14:21

Minister of Fisheries and Agriculture Dr. Mohamed Shainee has taken to Twitter to express his disappointment towards former ice president, Dr. Mohamed Jameel Ahmed, and former foreign minister, Ahmed ‘Kerafa’ Naseem, for allegedly running a campaign opposing the Maldives.

In his tweet, the fisheries minister stated that it was a shame on the two for campaigning against their own country when a seat in the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) would be an honour to every Maldivian regardless of their political beliefs.

Fisheries Minister Dr Mohamed Shainee's tweet.

Although Dr. Shainee did not specify on the former vice president and former foreign minister’s alleged anti-campaign, the tweet had come amidst the self-exiled former vice president’s discussions with the United Nations (UN) over the upcoming presidential elections.

Dr. Jameel and Naseem had earlier met with a UN official to express concerns over the capability to hold free and fair elections in the Maldives, and requested the organization’s assistance in ensuring the country holds just elections.

The Maldives, for the first time, is seeking election to the UN Security Council as a non-permanent member, for the term 2019 – 2020, the election for which is scheduled at the 73rd Session of the UN General Assembly in October/November 2018.

To secure election for a two-year term, a member state must receive at least two-thirds of all votes cast for that seat. Five new members are elected each year.

One of the UN’s six main organs, the powerful 15-member UNSC is responsible for maintaining international peace and security. It can impose sanctions and authorize the use of military force.

The council is made up of five permanent members with veto powers – the United States, United Kingdom, France, Russia, and China – and 10 non-permanent members elected by the General Assembly on a rotating basis by geographic region.