The Edition
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon linkedin icon


MDP wins by-elections for Dhiggaru and Gaadhiffushi councils

Malika Shahid
14 August 2022, MVT 12:21
[File] Counting of votes: MDP wins Dhiggaru and Gaadhiffushi Council by-elections
Malika Shahid
14 August 2022, MVT 12:21

Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) has won by-elections for the two vacant seats in Meemu Atoll Dhiggaru Council and Thaa Atoll Gaadhiffushi Council.

MDP won the by-election for the vacant seat on the Dhiggaru Council and the women's seat on the Gaadhiffushi Council.

Dhiggaru Council candidate Abdulla Arif won the election with 375 votes while opposition candidate Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) candidate Abdul Hannan, received 320 votes.

MDP candidate Zuhaira Ahmed won the Gaadhiffushi Council seat with 210 votes, while PPM candidate secured 201 votes.

Meanwhile, Maldives Reform Movement's (MRM)candidate for the seat secured four votes.

Share this story