The Edition
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon linkedin icon


Minister Fayyaz expresses hope for Nasheed's coalition

Mohamed Rehan
11 September 2023, MVT 23:26
Nasheed (L) with President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih (C) and MDP Chairperson Fayyaz Ismail (R)--
Mohamed Rehan
11 September 2023, MVT 23:26

Minister of Economic Development and Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) Chairperson Fayyaz Ismail has expressed optimism about forming an alliance with The Democrats founder and Parliament Speaker Mohamed Nasheed for the second round of the presidential election.

Fayyaz made this statement after the MDP National Assembly's first unofficial meeting following the first round of the election.

The MDP Chairperson said that the party was in discussions with all other parties to form alliances for the second round.

When asked about Nasheed's opinion about an alliance, Fayyaz said an answer would only be possible after holding discussions.

He however, expressed optimism of working together in the second round scheduled for September 30. Fayyaz added that the results of discussions would be certain in the next few days.

"I don't see any possibility where they [Nasheed] are not with us [in the second round]" Fayyaz said.

Fayyaz speculated the below-expected result for President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih was due to the low voter turnout. He noted that discussions were held at the national assembly to rectify this in the upcoming round.

"We are quite confident about winning in the second round. We believe we have the advantage at this point," Fayyaz added.

President Solih, who is seeking re-election, secured 81,161 votes while Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) and People's National Congress (PNC) coalition candidate Dr. Mohamed Muizzu took the lead with 101,635 votes.

Nasheed founded The Democrats candidate Ilyas Labeeb came in third by securing 15,839 votes.

While MDP has launched discussions with The Democrats, the ruling party's parliamentary group on Sunday evening, September 10, announced its decision to rescind the no-confidence motions submitted against Parliament Speaker Mohamed Nasheed, and Deputy Speaker Eva Abdulla.