The Edition


15 local council seats confirmed by default: EC

Fathmath Shaahunaz
05 March 2020, MVT 15:17
Commissioner Ismail Habeeb (R) and Ahmed Akram of the Elections Commission speak to the press about the Local Council Election 2020. PHOTO: HUSSAIN WAHEED / MIHAARU
Fathmath Shaahunaz
05 March 2020, MVT 15:17

Elections Commission (EC) revealed Thursday that 15 seats have been confirmed by default for the upcoming Local Council Election (LCS).

According to the electoral watchdog, ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) secured 13 of the seats, including two city councillors, seven island council presidents, two island councillors, and five seats allocated for women on councils.

There are 2,435 candidates contesting for the 982 seats in the Local Council Elections slated for April 4, of which 876 candidates are from MDP.

City Councils:

1. Mohamed Saif Fathih, MDP - Galolhu North, Male' City

2. Mariyam Saeeda, MDP - Hithadhoo Beyrumathi (from women's seats for Hithadhoo, Seenu Atoll)

Council Presidents:

1. Abdulla Zamir, MDP - Vaikaradhoo Council, Haa Dhaalu Atoll

2. Ali Shameem Mohamed, MDP - Kudafaree, Noonu Atoll

3. Mohamed Adnan, MDP - Maafaru, Noonu Atoll

4. Shujau Adam, Independent - Bodufolhudhoo, Alif Alif Atoll

5. Ismail Naseer, MDP - Maalhos, Alif Alif Atoll

6. Shifaq Hussain, MDP - Thinadhoo, Vaavu Atoll

7. Ahmed Iqbal Abdul Gayoom, Independent - Ribudhoo, Dhaalu Atoll

Island Councils:

1. Mohamed Naafiz, MDP - Maalhos, Alif Alif Atoll

2. Fazeel Ahmed, MDP - Maalhos, Alif Alif Atoll

Council seats allocated for women:

1. Dhimsha Abdul Majeed, MDP - Kudafaree, Noonu Atoll

2. Humaam Abdul Raheem, MDP - Kudafaree, Noonu Atoll

3. Aroosha Abdulla, MDP - Himandhoo, Alif Alif Atoll

4. Fathimath Anoosha Ahmed, MDP - Himandhoo, Alif Alif Atoll

EC also disclosed that 71 seats for the Women's Development Committee (WDC) election, which is being held concurrently with the LCE, have been secured by default as well. These include the seats for capital Male', the cities of Fuvahmulah and Addu, and 11 islands.

With the exception of Fuvahmulah North West constituency, MDP secured the rest, including 10 seats from Male' and two seats from Addu. An independent candidate is running for Fuvahmulah North West.

According to EC, the 71 confirmed seats for the WDC election includes 39 candidates from MDP, five from opposition Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) and 27 independent candidates.

Total 1,817 candidates are contesting for the 930 seats on the Women's Development Committees.