The Edition
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon linkedin icon


MP-Elects for 20th People's Majlis will take oath of office on May 28

Mariyath Mohamed
23 April 2024, MVT 11:07
Mariyath Mohamed
23 April 2024, MVT 11:07

Parliament Secretariat has decided that the MPs elected for the 20th People's Majlis will be taking their oath of office on May 28, 2024.

Speaker of Parliament Mohamed Aslam announced while commencing today's parliamentary sitting that the swearing in ceremony for the MP Elects will be held on Tuesday, May 28.

"I inform you that the Parliament Secretariat is undertaking all preparations necessary to hold this event," Aslam explained.

Aslam, however, faced defeat in Sunday's parliamentary election. He will remain as Speaker until the current term ends, which the Parliament Regulations state will be on May 15.

The Speaker said that unless there are any further changes, the 19th People's Majlis will hold its last sitting on May 13, and that work will proceed as normal until then.

Sunday's election saw ruling People's National Congress, along with aligned parties and independents, win a super majority in the upcoming parliament. PNC alone won 66 seats, while opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) secured 12 seats.

Neither former President Mohamed Nasheed's The Democrats, former President Abdulla Yameen's People's National Front, nor Adhaalath Party managed to secure any seats in this election.

Share this story