The Edition


Parliamentary candidates sign off on voters list

Fathmath Shaahunaz
24 March 2019, MVT 09:29
Members of the Elections Commission at a press conference. PHOTO/MIHAARU
Fathmath Shaahunaz
24 March 2019, MVT 09:29

Candidates for the April 6 parliamentary election began to sign off on the voters list early Sunday.

According to the Elections Commission (EC), the signings are being held in the training hall of the elections centre, at the following times:

March 24 - 0830 hours to 2230 hours

March 25 - 0830 hours to 2230 hours

March 26 - 0830 hours to 1500 hours

There are 264,589 eligible voters for the upcoming elections, as per the final registry published by the EC.

Total 403 individuals submitted their candidacies by the deadline of February 21, although some have since withdrawn their names.

The main party of the ruling coalition, Maldivian Democratic Party, also initially lobbied to contest for 86 out of the 87 seats in parliament. However, the party has conceded some seats since, while coalition member Jumhooree Party submitted candidacies for 42 constituencies.

Meanwhile, the opposition coalition of Progressive Party of Maldives, People's National Congress, and Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party are contesting for 50 seats.