The Edition


Adhaalath Party to contest for 13 constituencies

10 January 2019, MVT 14:38
Adhaalath Party and their leaders with President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih. PHOTO: HUSSAIN WAHEED/MIHAARU
10 January 2019, MVT 14:38

Religiously conservative Adhaalath Party (AP) of the ruling coalition announced Thursday its decision to contest for 13 constituencies, opening candidacy applications for the parliamentary elections slated for April 2019.

AP stated that the deadline to submit applications is January 20.

Opinions are currently divided in the ruling coalition over the parliamentary elections. Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP), on one hand, declared to contest for all 87 constituencies while Jumhooree Party (JP) has also opened applications for interested candidates.

Constituencies which will be contested by Adhaalath Party representatives;

-Kelaa, Haa Alifu Atoll

-Vaikaradhoo, Haa Dhaalu Atoll

-Hanimaadhoo, Haa Dhaalu Atoll

-Makunudhoo, Haa Dhaalu Atoll

-Inguraidhoo, Raa Atoll

-Kaashidhoo, Kaafu Atoll

-Mahibadhoo, Alifu Dhaalu Atoll

-Mulaku, Meemu Atoll

-Nilandhoo, Faafu Atoll

-Gan, Laamu Atoll

-Fuvahmulah South

-Feydhoo, Shaviyani Atoll

-Maafannu North, Male City

Anara Naeem, representative of Makunudhoo, Haa Dhaalu Atoll, is the only AP member currently in Parliament.

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has held discussions with the four leaders of the ruling coalition regarding the upcoming Parliamentary elections, although due to differences of opinion, the leaders were unable to reach a final agreement regarding the splitting of parliament.