The Edition


JSC elects judges to 15 magistrate courts

10 October 2018, MVT 16:07
Judges pictured during an appointment ceremony. PHOTO: HUSSAIN WAHEED/MIHAARU
10 October 2018, MVT 16:07

The Judicial Service Commission (JSC), on Wednesday, appointed 15 judges to magistrate courts across the country.

According to the commission, the magistrates were elected through secret ballots cast at a JSC meeting on Tuesday.

The commission elected magistrates to the islands of

- Feydhoo, Addu Atoll

- Villingili, Gaafu Alif Atoll

- Thimarafushi, Thaa Atoll

- Dhigurah, Alif Dhaal Atoll

- Dharanboodhoo, Faafu Atoll

- Hulhudheli, Dhaal Atoll

- Fuvahumulah

- Gan, Laamu Atoll

- Foakaidhoo, Shaviyani Atoll

- Thulusdhoo, Kaafu Atoll

- Gulhi, Kaafu Atoll

- Kaashidhoo, Kaafu Atoll

- Dhuvaafaru, Raa Atoll

- Alifushi, Raa Atoll

JSC has yet to announce when the elected magistrates will be sworn into office.

Magistrates receive MVR 23,450 per month while Chief Magistrates earn MVR 25,600 excluding medical insurance, as decided by the Maldivian Parliament.