The Edition


EC seeks MVR14 mln to hold parliament by-elections

Fathmath Shaahunaz
29 April 2018, MVT 17:29
The 12 lawmakers that were declared disqualified by the Elections Commission. IMAGE/MIHAARU
Fathmath Shaahunaz
29 April 2018, MVT 17:29

The Elections Commission (EC) has requested a budget of MVR 14 million from the Ministry of Finance and Treasury to hold by-elections for the 12 vacated seats on the parliament.

The electoral watchdog had declared 12 lawmakers formerly of ruling Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) unseated over floor-crossing, and had allocated MVR 26 million from the state budget to hold by-elections last September. However the dispute over the alleged vacancies had drawn out in the Supreme Court, delaying the elections.

While the EC has again decided to hold by-elections, the apex court is still yet to announce a decision regarding the issue.

EC member Ahmed Akram told Mihaaru on Sunday that the commission has commenced administrative works in preparation for the by-elections. He stated that they would go ahead as soon as the funds were settled.

The 12 lawmakers that were ousted from the parliament are:

Ihavandhoo MP Mohamed Abdulla

Dhidhdhoo MP Abdul Latheef

Hanimaadhoo MP Hussain Shahudhy

Maduvvari MP Mohamed Ameeth

Thulusdhoo MP Mohamed Waheed Ibrahim

Dhangethi MP Ilham Ahmed

Thimarafushi MP Mohamed Musthafa

Villingili MP Saud Hussain

Thinadhoo North MP Saudullah Hilmy

Thinadhoo South MP Abdulla Ahmed

Fuvahmulah North MP Ali Shah

Machangolhi South MP Abdulla Sinan

The unseated legislators continue to assert that they were disqualified unconstitutionally, and have raised concerns over the Supreme Court’s delay in reaching a verdict regarding their disputed seats.

While the top court has not issued a ruling yet, the parliament recently passed an Anti-Defection Bill that pronounced the lawmakers disqualified. Members of the opposition had filed at the Supreme Court claiming that the bill was passed in violation of the Constitution, but the apex court ruled against annulling the new legislature.