The Edition


High Achiever’s Scholarships limited to select countries

Farah Ahmed
06 November 2017, MVT 18:47
A student being awarded at the High Achiever's award function in 2016. PHOTO / MIHAARU
Farah Ahmed
06 November 2017, MVT 18:47

The Department of Higher Education (DHE) has changed the High Achiever’s Scholarship guidelines and decided that scholarships will be awarded to select countries.

The scholarships will be awarded to students who complete their A’Levels next year with A grades in three subjects, and A grades in Islam and Dhivehi.

According to the guidelines of the High Achievers Scholarship that was gazetted in May, the scholarship was awarded to study in SAARC countries only. The guideline also stated that if the course that the student wanted to pursue is not available in a SAARC country, the student could then choose to pursue that course in a non-OECD country.

Non-OECD countries are countries that do not participate in the Organisation for Economic Forum.

The new guideline that was published on Monday states that scholarships will now be available only to select countries decided by the DHE. Under this guideline, if the course chosen by the student is not available in the list of countries, the opportunity to apply for the course in a different country is provided. However, this is given that the total cost of education in the country is less than that of the countries included in DHE’s list.

The new guideline also states that if there are any additional costs incurred in the time of study, the Department of Higher Education provides supplementary loan schemes as financial aid.