The Edition


Another lawmaker leaves ruling party

Fathmath Shaahunaz
10 July 2017, MVT 14:24
Machangolhi MP Abdulla Sinan (L) with Dhangethi MP Ilham Ahmed at a PPM function. FILE PHOTO/MIHAARU
Fathmath Shaahunaz
10 July 2017, MVT 14:24

Lawmaker of Machangolhi constituency Abdulla Sinan, who was most prominently seen alongside First Lady Fathimath Ibrahim on the political scene, resigned from ruling Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) on Monday.

An associate of MP Sinan confirmed his resignation from the ruling party to Mihaaru. The lawmaker is currently abroad.

MP Sinan is one of ten PPM lawmakers that signed the joint opposition’s petition to file a motion of no confidence against Parliament Speaker Abdulla Maseeh.

His resignation comes in the wake of clashes between the lawmaker and PPM. However, MP Sinan has not disclosed details of his strained relation with the ruling party to the media.

Three other lawmakers of PPM also resigned from the ruling party last week with PPM’s parliamentary group deputy leader Dhangethi MP Ilham Ahmed, Dhidhdhoo MP Abdul Latheef Mohamed and Hanimaadhoo MP Hussain Shahudhy. All the lawmakers sans MP Latheef are currently overseas.

With MP Sinan’s resignation, the ruling party’s numbers in parliament have fallen to 40. Along with the five lawmakers of Maldives Development Alliance (MDA), the ruling coalition now boasts total 45 seats in Parliament.