The Edition


Maldives elects mayors for City Councils

Aishath Mihna Nasih
04 June 2017, MVT 12:30
Shifa Mohamed elected as the Mayor of Male City. PHOTO:Hussain Waheed/Mihaaru
Aishath Mihna Nasih
04 June 2017, MVT 12:30

The Maldives on Saturday elected the mayors of the three City Councils of the Maldives.

The three mayors are Shifa Mohamed for capital Male City, Abdulla Sodhiq for Addu City and Abdulla Falah Shareef for the newly established Fuvahmulah City. The three mayors represent the main opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP).

Shifa Mohamed is the first female mayor of Male City. She was the Minister of Education during former President Mohamed Nasheed’s tenure. In the short election held among the councillors after the swearing-in ceremony last Saturday, Shifa was elected with the votes of 11 councilors out of 13. Meanwhile, Shamau Shareef is elected as the Deputy Mayor of Male City with 12 votes in favor.

MDP succeeded 12 seats of Male City Council whilst government aligned Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party (DRP) won one seat.

Abdulla Sodiq elected as Addu City Mayor for the third time

Addu City Mayor and Deputy Mayor were also elected after the swearing-in ceremony held at Sharafuddeen School on Saturday. Mayor Sodhiq succeeded the mayor’s post for the third time consecutively. The newly elected Deputy Mayor of Addu City is Mohamed Yasrif of South Hithadhoo constituency.

While seven new councillors have been elected to Addu City, two of councillors were also members of previous Addu City Council as well. They are Yasrif and Feydhoo Councillor Ahmed Fahumee.

The full Addu City Council is won by the opposition MDP.

Abdulla Falah, Mayor of Fuvahmulah City

The Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Fuvahmulah City were also elected after the swearing-in ceremony on Saturday. Falah succeeded the vote unanimously while his Deputy Mayor went to MDP councillor Mohamed Liraar. The remaining councillor of Fuvahmulah City is Hamad Abdulla who won the seat with an electoral ticket of ruling Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM).

Falah was the former President of  Fuvahmulah Atoll Council.

As Parliament has reduced the privileges and salaries of the City Councilors, Mayors will now receive a salary of MVR 18,000, Deputy Mayors will receive MVR 14,000 and City Councilors will receive MVR 11,500.