The Edition
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon linkedin icon


Only five PPM/PNC MPs left in parliament

Mariyath Mohamed
20 November 2023, MVT 13:43
A parliament sitting in session.-- Photo: Parliament Secretariat
Mariyath Mohamed
20 November 2023, MVT 13:43

With the appointment of parliamentarians to positions in the current President Dr Mohamed Muizzu's cabinet and other state positions, representatives in parliament from their parties' coalition has now gone down to just five.

Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) and People's National Congress (PNC) candidate Dr Mohamed Muizzu assumed presidency on last Friday, the 17th of November.

Commencing today's sitting, Speaker of Parliament Mohamed Aslam announced that six parliamentarians have officially resigned from the legislative.

Members of PPM who resigned are;

1. Faresmaathodaa MP Hussain Mohamed Latheef who has been sworn in as Vice President

2. Naifaru MP Ahmed Shiyam who has been appointed as Fisheries Minister

3. Guraidhoo MP Ghassan Maumoon who has been appointed as Defence Minister

The remaining PPM MPs are Majority Leader and Eydhafushi MP Ahmed Saleem and Mahibadhoo MP Ahmed Thoriq.

Additionally, Fonadhoo MP Moosa Siraj and Thulusdhoo MP Ibrahim Naeem have also joined PPM. However, their names have not yet been transferred to the party in the official parliament register.

PNC members who resigned are:

1. Local Governance Ministry appointee Maduvvari MP Adam Shareef

2. Economic and Trade Ministry appointee Maavashu MP Mohamed Saeed

PNC still has Felidhoo MP Fazul Rasheed in parliament. However, Fazul is also believed to be slated for a position in the current administration.

Aslam also announced that MNP Vice President and VilliMale' MP Ahmed Usham has resigned.

Opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) currently holds the parliament majority, with the second largest number of MPs coming from MDP's breakaway party, The Democrats.

Share this story