The Edition


Parliament committee to launch probes over Afrasheem's murder report

Shahudha Mohamed
18 November 2019, MVT 18:25
The parliament's National Security Services holding a session on November 18 to discuss measures to take regarding the Presidential Commission's report on former Ungoofaaru MP Dr Afrasheem Ali's murder. PHOTO: PARLIAMENT
Shahudha Mohamed
18 November 2019, MVT 18:25

The parliament's National Security Services Committee, on Monday, decided to launch investigations regarding the publicised report on prominent scholar and former Ungoofaaru MP Dr Afrasheem Ali's murder.

The report prepared on Afrasheem's assassination by the Presidential Commission on Investigating Murders and Enforced Disappearances, established by President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih to reinvestigate cold cases, was publicised by the President's Office on Sunday.

A summary of this report was presented at the Parliament on the same day.

During Monday's committee session, Henveiru West MP Hassan Latheef proposed seven suggestions regarding the scholar's case:

- Determining the operations, workings and numbers of extremist and terrorist organisations mentioned in the commission's report

- Determining the monetary transactions, including the transferred amounts, that took place to fund Afrasheem's murder

- Compiling a list of terrorist organisations and taking legal action against them

- Identifying the silent parties who were aware of the assassination but chose not to report to the authorities

- Determining whether, and by how much, Maldives Police Service were negligent regarding Afrasheem's murder

- Locating the whereabouts of the suspects allegedly involved in the assassination, as per the commission's report

- Pushing for necessary action regarding the information in the report

A decision was made with the majority support of the committee's members to collect information from Police, Maldives Immigration and other relevant institutions.

This task was delegated to a newly formed subcommittee assembled during the session, consisting of Henveiru West MP Hassan Latheef, Maduvvari MP Adam Shareef and Fares Maathodaa MP Hussain Mohamed Latheef.