The Edition


Parliament to change number of members in committees

Nafaahath Ibrahim
11 June 2019, MVT 12:13
A parliament sitting in progress. PHOTO: MIHAARU
Nafaahath Ibrahim
11 June 2019, MVT 12:13

Two temporary Parliament Committees on Monday decided to bring significant changes to the number of members in the 16 permanent committees.

Although the number of members in committee changed, the slots allocated for different political parties remain the same. Hence, Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP), the main party of the ruling coalition, still holds the majority in all the parliament committees.

As the temporary committee put together to make regulations for Parliament and allocate members to the permanent was disbanded, the public finance committee currently has the highest number with 14 members.

The economic committee, independent institutions committee, national security and diplomatic relations committee, and state-owned enterprises committee all have 13 members each. The national accountability committee has 12 members.

Breakdown of parliamentary committees

Judiciary committee - 11 members

Environment and climate change committee - 11 members

Human rights and gender committee - 11 members

Ethics committee - 10 members -

Secondary legislation committee - 10 members

Decentralization committee - 10 members

General purpose committee - 9 members

Social affairs committee - 9 members

National development and heritage committee - 9 members

Petitions committee - 8 members

With the distribution of committee slots among the political parties, MDP will receive 132, with 8-9 slots from each committee.

Jumhooree Party (JP) and opposition Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) each will receive 10 slots from the committees. However, the temporary committee decided that one member from both JP and PPM will be on every committee.

While there are three parliamentarians from People's National Congress, they receive six slots, with one member for each committee.

Furthermore, Maldives Development Alliance (MDA) with two parliamentarians also receive slots from four committees.

The independent seven members are to receive slots from 14 committees.