The Edition
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon linkedin icon


Maldives Media Council elects 13 new members

Mariyam Malsa
06 December 2020, MVT 16:16
An individual casts his ballot at the Maldives Media Council Election. PHOTO: AHMED AWSHAN ILYAS/ MIHAARU
Mariyam Malsa
06 December 2020, MVT 16:16

The Maldives Media Council (MMC), on Saturday, elected 13 new members.

Consisting of seven media representatives and six citizen representatives, the members were elected for their positions following a voting process joined by 187 media outlets.

The internal election was held prior to the conclusion of incumbent members' terms.

A total of 15 individuals contested for the seven seats allocated for media representatives while 14 contested for the sxc seats allocated for citizens.

Newly elected media representatives

- Ali Hussain (PSM): 152 votes

- Muizzu Ibrahim (Mihaaru): 99 votes

- Adam Nawaz (Vaguthu): 92 votes

- Hassan Shakir Mohamed (Asdhandi): 88 votes

- Adam Nazeer (Hathaavees Online): 97 votes

- Shahubaan Fahumy (Sangu TV): 94 votes

- Hussain Sageef (Thiladhun): 97 votes

Newly elected citizen representatives

- Fathimath Ahmed: 142 votes

- Anwar Ibrahim: 112 votes

- Ibrahim Fauzy: 99 votes

- Ahmed Moosa: 90 votes

- Shafaa-ath Habeeb: 83 votes

- Mohamed Shafaau: 82 votes

Share this story

Related Stories