The Edition
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon linkedin icon


LIVE: Parliamentary Election 2024: Only three women MPs

Only three women candidates have won seats in today's parliamentary election.

Mariyath Mohamed
21 April 2024, MVT 22:29
Mariyath Mohamed
21 April 2024, MVT 22:29

23:35 - Thimarafushi constituency seat has been won by Ahmed Riyaz, brother of Abdulla Riyaz.

Five candidates contested for this seat. Although Ibrahim Sanah (Santo) contested on PNC's ticket for the seat, President Dr Mohamed Muizzu had earlier endorsed Ahmed Riyaz for the seat.

Riyaz won the seat with 779 votes, with Santo being the closest contender with 700 votes.

23:00 - PNC's Mohamed Ali wins Gahdhoo constituency, defeating Fenaka Saeed and Ahmed Zahir.

22:44 - Only three women candidates have won seats in today's parliamentary election.

All three of these candidates are from PNC, with all female candidates running from the party having won the election.

These are Fathimath Saudha for Nilandhoo constituency, Asma Rasheed for Central Maafannu constituency and Anara Naeem for Huraa constituency.

22:42 - Former President Abdulla Yameen's People's National Front (PNF) was also unsuccessful in winning any seats in parliament this election.

22:23 - PNC is close to winning a super majority in the 20th People's Majlis. So far, the party has confirmed 66 seats. A super majority can be achieved through winning three fourths of parliament, which is 70 seats.

If considering the wins of government aligned parties MNP and MDA, then the government coalition has 68 seats.

MDP, which won 65 seats in the previous elections, won only 11 seats in today's election. Neither the Democrats nor Adhaalath won any seats.

22:21 - Adhaalath Party did not win any seats in today's election

22:20 - So far, only two women candidates have had their wins secured.

22:10 -

Share this story