The Edition
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon linkedin icon


Interim report on parliament constituency increase publicized

Mohamed Rehan
28 September 2023, MVT 10:51
Members of the Election Commission (EC); the commission had released an interim report on the parliament constituency change-- Photo: Fayaz Moosa | Mihaaru
Mohamed Rehan
28 September 2023, MVT 10:51

Elections Commission (EC) on Wednesday evening, September 27, publicized an interim report of the recent increase in parliament constituencies for the next term.

The EC report confirms a total of 93 seats for the parliament with the latest revision, which is an increase of six additional seats on top of the current 87 seats.

Additional Constituencies

1. Central-Hulhumalé

2. North-Hulhumalé

3. Hithaadhoo (Baa atoll Hithaadhoo, Maalhos, and Dharavandhoo)

4. Huraa (Kaafu atoll Huraa, Himmafushi, and Gulhi)

5. Kolamaafushi (Gaafu Alifu atoll Kolamaafushi, and Dhevvadhoo)

6. North-Feydhoo (Seenu atoll Feydhoo and Maradhoo)

With this revision, Baa atoll Eydhafushi, Gaafu Alifu atoll Vilingili, and Raa atoll Meedhoo will now be identified as individual constituencies.

The report also highlighted changes in the titles of the original constituencies. Hulhumalé constituency has been renamed as the South-Hulhumalé constituency, Kaafu atoll Guraidhoo constituency is now known as the Maafushi constituency, the Thaa atoll Guraidhoo constituency has been renamed to the Guraidhoo constituency, and Feydhoo constituency is now the South-Feydhoo constituency.

EC said it will be accepting complaints for the report effective from Wednesday until October 19.

The commission however, did not announce the date for the next parliamentary election.

Share this story

Related Stories