The Edition
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon linkedin icon


Results of some ballot boxes void in The Democrats election

Mohamed Rehan
08 December 2023, MVT 17:25
The Democrats' parliamentary group leader Ali Azim-- Photo: Mihaaru
Mohamed Rehan
08 December 2023, MVT 17:25

The results from some of the ballot boxes stationed for the first internal election of The Democrats have been rendered void.

The results of these ballot boxes have been nullified because they contained more ballots than the registered number of voters.

On Wednesday, December 6, the party announced the final results of the election.

According to the party's Parliamentary Group leader Ali Azim, The Democrats have decided to cancel some of the ballot boxes stationed to elect the Youth Democrats leader and Deputy Leader.

Cancelled Ballot Boxes

1. Baa atoll Dharavandhoo

2. Baa atoll Kudarikilu

3. Baa atoll Goidhoo

4. Baa atoll Fehedhoo

5. Shaviyani atoll Maaenboodhoo

6. Noonu atoll Maafaru

7. Thaa atoll Kinbidhoo

8. Noonu atoll Miladhoo

9. Haa Dhaalu atoll Nolhivaram

10. Haa Dhaalu atoll Neykurendhoo

11. Gaafu Dhaalu atoll Gadhdhoo

12. Haa Alifu atoll Hoarafushi

13. Raa atoll Alifushi

Azim further said the party has decided to hold re-election in the constituencies where ballot results have been nullified. However, he did not specify the date for the re-election.

A total of 3,029 members voted to elect The Democrats' new President. Former State Trading Organization (STO) Managing Director Hussain Amru competed against West-Henveiru MP Hassan Latheef for the president's position. MP Hassan secured 1,704 votes and Amru received 1,300.

Several members had voiced frustration over the delays in issuing the final voting results.

Azim responded to this, stating an expedited vote count would not be just and democratic, which is only possible after thoroughly inspecting the issues that arose during voting.

Share this story