The Edition
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon linkedin icon


Vote for no confidence motions scheduled for Minister Shahid, AG Riffath, and Deputy Speaker Eva

Lamya Abdulla
27 May 2023, MVT 20:13
(FILE) Vice Speaker Eva at a parliament session on July 8, 2020 -- Photo: Parliament
Lamya Abdulla
27 May 2023, MVT 20:13

Parliament has scheduled a date to vote on the no-confidence motions filed against Deputy Speaker of parliament and North Galolhu MP Eva Abdulla, Attorney General (AG) Ibrahim Riffath, and Minister for Foreign Affairs Abdulla Shahid.

The no-confidence vote against Deputy Speaker Eva was filed by the parliamentary group of the Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) after she resigned from the party. The motions of no-confidence against Minister Shahid and AG Riffath were filed by the opposition in response to the Mauritius and Maldives maritime border demarcation case.

According to the notices sent by the parliament, the no-confidence motion against AG Riffath is scheduled to be voted on May 31 and the no-confidence vote against Minister Shahid has been scheduled for June 6, while Eva's no-confidence vote will be taken on June 11.

Eva is among the prominent former members of the MDP, who are actively involved in establishing a new political party "The Democrats" with the intention to contest in the upcoming presidential election scheduled for September 9.

A no-confidence motion against the Speaker and Deputy Speaker can be passed by a majority of the members present in parliament. If all members participate, the motion requires at least 43 votes in favor to remove them from their positions. MDP has submitted the no-confidence motion with a total of 50 signatures from parliamentarians.